Captain Jack Sparrow: World’s Luckiest Man

Anyone who knows me knows that I love Johnny Depp and I love Disney. So obviously I love Pirates of the Caribbean (Curse of the Black Pearl will always be my favorite don’t fight me on this one). I started thinking today about Jack Sparrow and the things he’s known for. He’s the “best” pirate in the world, he strapped two turtles together when he was marooned on a island, he loves rum, and he carries the iconic compass that doesn’t point north. Then I got to thinking how much I would love to get my hands on that compass. 

The compass doesn’t point north. Instead, it points to the one thing your heart desires most. Now, in the movies the holder of the compass knows what their heart desires and they will stop at nothing to get to it, including but not limited to sword fights, the undead, or a man with tentacles on his face. Whether it be the Black Pearl or Elizabeth Swan or a long lost relative (*~spoiler~*), the compass never fails. But what happens when someone holds the compass who doesn’t live inside a Disney movie? What happens when I hold the compass? Imagine holding something in your hand that can tell you exactly what your heart wants.

I spent the last 4 years as an elementary education major and the plan was the graduate and teach first grade. Now, I have changed courses completely and I have a new major and absolutely no idea what I’m doing or where I’m going. I don’t know what I want to do. I’m beginning to question who my friends are and who my friends are not. I’m on the back side of my 22nd year and I just feel like I’m about to fall off the edge of some cliff and be lost forever. If only I knew what/where/who it is my heart desires most… I think I need to get my hands on the handy dandy compass down in the Caribbean. 

Someone call Walt Disney and tell him to send me that compass. But in the mean time, drink up me hearties, yo ho. 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

